International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation Home Page
About Us Scholarship Sponsorship Donate Merchandise




2014 Scholarship Winners




The International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation (IAFCF), promoting higher education and research in the fire services, is pleased to announce the recipients of the Foundation’s 2014 Scholarships.


Fire Explorer Scholarships:

    • Spencer David Blackwell, South County Fire Authority/Tracy Fire Dept., California
    • Colin Ellison, Wauconda Fire District, Illinois
    • Timothy Maricle,  St. Charles City Fire, Missouri
    • Michael W. Morrison, Macedonia Fire Department, Ohio
    • Mitchell P. Olsen, Oak Creek Fire Department, Wisconsin
    • Conner Shults, Upton Fire Department, Massachusetts
    • Alexander Wright, Vashon Island Fire Rescue, Washington


Motorola Solutions Foundation Future Leaders Scholarships:

    • Patrick M. Burke, Firefighter/Paramedic, Homer Township Fire Protection Dist. (IL)
    • Troy David Essenburg, Captain, Homer Township Fire Protection Dist. (IL)
    • Sandra Friedrichsen, Fire Marshal, Windsor Severance Fire Rescue (CO)
    • James H. Johnston II, Captain, City of Elko Fire Dept. (NV)
    • Nathaniel Meisner, Paramedic/Lieutenant, Albuquerque Fire Dept. (NM)
    • Adam Smith, Lieutenant, Washington Township Fire Dept. (OH)
    • John C. Taylor, Deputy Fire Chief, North Davis Fire District (UT)
    • Kevin Uthe, Lieutenant, Homer Township Fire Protection District (IL)


Company Officer Leadership Symposium (COLS) Scholarships:

    • David Emanuel, Captain, Durham Fire Department (NH)
    • James Gile, Training Officer, Jackson 105 Fire Protection District (CO)
    • Taylor Goodman,  Captain, Henrico County Fire Department (VA)              
    • Joseph Schum, Captain, Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District (NV)


“Thanks to the special partnership with the Motorola Solutions Foundation, which is the charitable arm of Motorola Solutions, Inc., the IAFC Foundation was able to expand the number of scholarships awarded for the Future Leaders and Company Officer Leadership Development Programs this year. Together the Foundation and the Motorola Solutions Foundation have demonstrated their commitment to a well-educated, trained, versatile fire and emergency service,” said Tony Campisi, IAFC Foundation President and President/CEO of Glatfelter Insurance Group.

“Aligning with Motorola Solutions’ purpose to help people be their best in the moments that matter, the Motorola Solutions Foundation is honored to support first responders and their families through program funding that bolster firefighter and emergency medical service, personnel safety, training and education,” said Matt Blakely, director of the Motorola Solutions Foundation. “Through our Public Safety Grants, we partner with organizations like the IAFC Foundation on programs to ensure first responders have access to the necessary tools and resources they need to lead, succeed and stay safe.”


In addition, the following Scholarship Awards were presented:


  • The John M. Buckman, III Award goes to Lieutenant Kyle R. Mellon, Middletown Fire Company No. 1 in Pennsylvania.


  • The Fed Mil Scholarship Award, made possible by the IAFC’s Federal Military Section and the IAFC Foundation goes to Airman First Class Logan T. Brouse, Dover Air Force Base Fire Department/Shamokin Dam Fire Co./Union Township Fire Co. in Pennsylvania.


  • The Chief Charles A. “Chet” Henry Memorial Scholarship Award, made possible with support from VFIS, for exceptional commitment to public service goes to Fire Chief Patrick Shipp, Webster Fire Department in Texas.


  • The Heather Westphal Memorial Scholarship Award benefiting women in the fire service, created in honor of IAFC’s Membership Marketing Manager is going to Firefighter/Paramedic Kelly Gitzke with the Huntley Fire Protection District in Illinois.


  • The Gary L. Briese Scholarship Award goes to Lieutenant Travis Teesch, Kaukauna Fire Department in Wisconsin.



The following deserving volunteer and career first responders were also selected to receive educational scholarships:

    • Christopher Scott Bremner, Firefighter/Paramedic, Algonquin-Lake in the Hills Fire Protection District (IL)
    • Joshua Simmons, Medic-Firefighter, City of Hampton Division of Fire & Rescue (VA)
    • Mac Thomas, Captain,  Rock Hill Fire Department (SC)
    • Keith Wesley Weuve, Fire Medic, Lenexa Fire Department (KS)
    • Christopher Wynkoop, Captain, City of Stockton Fire Department (CA)


“The Foundation is delighted to provide these Scholarships to assist our young men and women in their pursuit of a career in the fire and emergency services.  Our award winners represent the future of the fire and emergency services and it’s imperative that we assist them in their quest to serve and protect our communities,” stated Campisi.

The IAFC Foundation Scholarships are made possible by generous contributions from Glatfelter Insurance Group, 1-800-BOARDUP,  Motorola Solutions Foundation, W. S. Darley & Company, and the IAFC’s Metropolitan Chiefs and Volunteer and Combination Officer Sections, and from many individuals and supporters of the fire service industry around the country.

The IAFC Foundation provides scholarships that make it possible for fire and EMS first responders to access the advanced learning opportunities they need in order to be prepared for the increasing complex realities of the world today.  The scholarship awards made by the IAFC Foundation impact the fire service and communities by providing first responders with the educational opportunities they need to lead the fire service and serve and protect our citizens."