International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation Home Page
About Us Scholarship Sponsorship Donate Merchandise


2013 Scholarship Winners


The International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation (IAFCF), promoting higher education and research in the fire services, is pleased to announce the recipients of the Foundation’s 2013 Scholarships.


Fire Explorer Scholarships:

    • Kyle Bathke, Menomonee Falls Fire Department (WI)    
    • Tyler Hoffeditz,  Clackamas Fire District #1 (OR)
    • Jordan Andrew Saucier, Central Nine Career Center (IN)   
    • Malibu Sprague,  Manchester Fire Department (NH)
    • Justin James Turner,  West Covina Fire Department (CA)


Motorola Solutions Foundation Future Leaders Scholarships:

    • Stacy L. Carroll, Lieutenant, Newport News Fire Dept. (VA)
    • Brady J. Casson, Lieutenant, Cottonwood Fire Dept. (AZ)
    • Matthew Highstreet, Lieutenant, Hellsgate Fire District (AZ)
    • James H. Johnston II, Captain, City of Elko Fire Dept. (NV)
    • Sean Morrison, Firefighter II/EMT-B, Stillwater and Fairmount Fire Dept. (OK)
    • Bryan K. Wells, Captain, Greensboro and Alamance Community Fire Depts. (NC)


Company Officer Leadership Symposium (COLS) Scholarships:

    • David Emanuel, Captain, Durham Fire Department (NH)
    • James Gile, Training Officer, Jackson 105 Fire Protection District (CO)
    • Michael Riley,  Lieutenant, Asheville Fire Department (NC)              
    • Joseph Schum, Captain, Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District (NV)


“Thanks to the special partnership with the Motorola Solutions Foundation, which is the charitable arm of Motorola Solutions, Inc., the IAFC Foundation was able to expand the number of scholarships awarded for the Future Leaders and Company Officer Leadership Development Programs this year. Together the Foundation and the Motorola Solutions Foundation have demonstrated their commitment to a well-educated, trained, versatile fire and emergency service,” said Tony Campisi, IAFC Foundation President and President/CEO of Glatfelter Insurance Group.


“Aligning with Motorola Solutions’ purpose to help people be their best in the moments that matter, the Motorola Solutions Foundation is honored to support first responders and their families through program funding that bolster firefighter and emergency medical service, personnel safety, training and education,” said Matt Blakely, director of the Motorola Solutions Foundation. “Through our Public Safety Grants, we partner with organizations like the IAFC Foundation on programs to ensure first responders have access to the necessary tools and resources they need to lead, succeed and stay safe.”


In addition, the following Scholarship Awards were presented:


  • The John M. Buckman, III Award goes to Tyler Schmidt, Lieutenant, Davenport Fire Department and Eldridge Volunteer Fire Company in Iowa.


  • The Chief Charles A. “Chet” Henry Memorial Scholarship Award, made possible with support from VFIS, for exceptional commitment to public service goes to Beau Bevan, Fire Medic/Lieutenant with the BASF Fire-Emergency Services and the Fish River Marlow Fire & Rescue Department in Alabama.


  • The Garry L Briese Scholarship Award, also made possible with support from the Motorola Foundation, goes to Lieutenant Richard L. Wilson with the Bartlett Fire and Monroe Township Fire Districts in Illinois.


  • The Heather Westphal Memorial Scholarship Award benefiting women in the fire service, created in honor of IAFC’s Membership Marketing Manager is going to Lieutenant Sonya Armstrong with the Newport News Fire Department in Virginia.


The following deserving volunteer and career first responders were also selected to receive educational scholarships:

    • Joseph Bongiorno, Captain, Meridian Fire Department (ID)
    • Jodi A. Halweg, Firefighter/Paramedic, City of Maplewood Fire Department (MN)
    • Bradley Kavetski, Firefighter/Paramedic, Horry County Fire Rescue & Darlington County EMS (SC)
    • Randall C. Reitz, Captain, Fresno Fire Department (CA)
    • Timothy Alan Riggs, Lieutenant, Chanute Fire Department (KS)
    • Jennifer Smith, Battalion Chief, New Hanover County Fire Rescue (NC)
    • Teddy D. Wolfe, Chief Fire Operations Officer, Orangeburg County Fire District (SC)


“The Foundation is delighted to provide these Scholarships to assist our young men and women in their pursuit of a career in the fire and emergency services.  Our award winners represent the future of the fire and emergency services and it’s imperative that we assist them in their quest to serve and protect our communities,” stated Campisi.

The IAFC Foundation Scholarships are made possible by generous contributions from Glatfelter Insurance Group, 1-800-BOARDUP, Hale Products, L.N. Curtis & Sons, Motorola Solutions Foundation,  Pierce Manufacturing, Power Train, Tyco/Scott Safety, W. S. Darley & Company, IAFC’s Eastern Division and the IAFC’s Metropolitan Chiefs and Volunteer and Combination Officer Sections, and from many individuals and supporters of the fire service industry around the country.

The IAFC Foundation provides scholarships that make it possible for fire and EMS first responders to access the advanced learning opportunities they need in order to be prepared for the increasing complex realities of the world today.  The scholarship awards made by the IAFC Foundation impact the fire service and communities by providing first responders with the educational opportunities they need to lead the fire service and serve and protect our citizens.