International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation Home Page
About Us Scholarship Sponsorship Donate Merchandise


IAFC Foundation Announces 2012 Scholarship Winners


The International Association of Fire Chiefs Foundation, promoting higher education and research in the fire services, is pleased to announce it awarded $35,000 in emergency services scholarships to career and volunteer first responders and Fire Explorers.

2012 Fire Explorer Scholarships:

    • Andrew Gerber, Mount Laurel Fire Department, Mount Laurel, New Jersey
    • Jacob McGill, Delhi Township Fire Department, Holt, Michigan
    • Nathan Mello, New Hampton Fire Department, Bristol, New Hampshire
    • Mark Preidis, Fox Lake Fire Protection District, McHenry, Illinois
    • Edward Razura-Perez, Los Angeles County Fire Department, South Gate, California
    • Tanner Selph, St. Lucie County Fire Department, Fort Pierce, Florida

2012 Motorola Solutions Foundation Future Leaders Scholarships:

    • Michael Cogdill, Lieutenant, Jefferson Township Fire Dept. (OH)
    • Randy D’Arcy, Lieutenant, City of Newport News Fire Dept. (VA)
    • Noe Lopez, Engineer, Woodland Fire Department (CA)
    • Amanda Scheller, Lieutenant, Naperville Fire Department (IL)
    • Pabel Troche, Engineer, Smyrna Fire Rescue (GA)
    • Dustin Nelson, GS-7 Driver/Operator, Hill AFB Fire and Emergency Svcs. (UT)

2012 Company Officer Leadership Symposium (COLS) Scholarships:

    • David Emanuel, Captain, Durham Fire Department (NH)
    • James Gile, Training Officer, Jackson 105 Fire Protection District (CO)
    • Joseph Schum, Captain, Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District (NV)


“Thanks to the special partnership with the Motorola Solutions Foundation, which is the charitable arm of Motorola Solutions, Inc., the IAFC Foundation was able to expand the number of scholarships awarded for the Future Leaders and Company Officer Leadership Development Programs this year. Together the Foundation and Motorola have demonstrated their commitment to a well-educated, trained, versatile fire and emergency service,” said IAFC Foundation President and President/CEO of Glatfelter Insurance Group Tony Campisi.

"Aligning with Motorola Solutions' purpose to help people be their best in the moments that matter, the Motorola Solutions Foundation is honored to support first responders and their families through program funding that bolster safety and educations," said Matt Blakely, director of the Motorola Solutions Foundation. "Through the public Safety Grants, we partner with programs like the IAFC Foundation to ensure first responders have access to the necessary tools and resources they need to succeed."

In addition, the following Scholarship Awards were presented:


Recipient of the John Buckman III Scholarship Award:

    • Todd Van Scoy, Firefighter/Paramedic/ Training Division Chief, Cities of Burlington & West Burlington Fire Departments (IA)


Recipient of the Chief Charles A. "Chet" Henry Memorial Scholarship Award, made possible with support from VFIS.

    • Andrew Schaffran, Fire Chief, Thurston Co. Fire District 16 and Battalion Chief, East Olympia Fire District 6 (WA)

Recipient of the Garry L. Briese Scholarship Award, made possible with support from The Motorola Solutions Foundation:

    • David Curtis, Firefighter/Medic, Homer Township Fire Protection District (IL)


Recipient of the Heather Westphal Memorial Scholarship Award:

    • Susanna Schmitt Williams, Division Chief of Training & Standards, Jacksonville Fire Department (NC)


Recipients of the Federal Military Scholarship Award with funding support from the Federal Military Section of the IAFC:

    • Bryan West, Lieutenant, Fort Leonard Wood Fire & Emergency Services (MO)


The following deserving volunteer and career first responders were also selected to receive educational scholarships:

    • Firefighter/Paramedic Patrick M. Burke with Homer Township Fire Protection District in IL
    • Firefighter Brendan M. Cassidy with Scarborough Fire Department in ME
    • Firefighter Taylor B. Chandler with Lower King & Queen Volunteer Fire EMS in VA
    • Firefighter/EMT Gregory D. Cobb with Middleton Rural Fire and Rescue in ID
    • Firefighter Kyle R. Mellon with Middletown Fire Company No. 1 in PA
    • EMS Coordinator Daniel A. Podlogar with City of Massillon Fire Department in OH
    • Equipment Operator Kyle Svoboda with Plainfield Fire Department in MI

“The Foundation is delighted to provide these Scholarships to assist our young men and women in their pursuit of a career in the fire and emergency services.  Our award winners represent the future of the fire and emergency services and it’s imperative that we assist them in their quest to serve and protect our communities,” stated Campisi.

The IAFC Foundation Scholarships are made possible by generous contributions from Glatfelter Insurance Group, 1-800-BOARDUP, Crash Rescue Equipment, Cobra North American, Hale Products, L.N. Curtis & Sons, Mine Safety Appliances Company, Motorola Solutions Foundation, MSA Breathing Apparatus, OshKosh Corporation, Pierce Manufacturing, Power Train, Tyco/Scott Safety, W. S. Darley & Company, IAFC’s Eastern Division and the IAFC’s Metropolitan Chiefs and Volunteer and Combination Officer Sections, and from many individuals and supporters of the fire service industry around the country.


About the IAFC Foundation

Organized originally by the IAFC, the IAFC Foundation was chartered as a separate nonprofit organization in 1974. The IAFC Foundation is proud to advance the fire service by helping first responders ensure they are well prepared to face the challenges of today's increasingly complex world by helping them advance their education in this field.

For more information about the IAFC Foundation and to learn how you can help support first responders who wish to further their fire-service education or to obtain a scholarship application, please visit the IAFC Foundation’s website at or call Sharon Baroncelli at 703-896-4822 or send an email inquiry.